Jul 22, 2024  
2023-2024 Catalogue 
2023-2024 Catalogue [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs by Area: Majors and Minors


Chairperson: Ian T. Durham

Professors: Ian T. Durham, David V. Guerra; Assistant Professors: Nicole Gugliucci, Alexander R. H. Smith; Laboratory Instructor: Kathleen Shartzer

The mission of the Physics Department is to embrace, encourage, and promote the study of the natural world, while imparting in our students curiosity, understanding, and the tools to be leaders in today’s job market. The department offers both a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics, each of which comprises a sequence of courses that introduces students to study the models, theories, and laws that describe the physical universe. In addition to these two degree paths, the department offers a program in physics with certification for teaching at the secondary level, as well as dual-degree (3-2) programs in engineering that couple a major in physics at Saint Anselm with majors in engineering at partner institutions. The department also offers minors in Quantum Information Science, Astrophysics, Earth & Space Science, and Physics. Details on these programs are below.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs by Area: Majors and Minors